Kosmima Logo

Diamond Education

When it comes to choosing a diamond, being informed is key.

Our team is here to help you make an educated decision when purchasing your next stone.

Diamond being held by a tweezer against black background

The 4Cs of Diamonds

The Four Cs of diamonds—cut, color, clarity, and carat weight—serve as the global standard for evaluating the quality and value of diamonds by assessing their craftsmanship, hue , purity, and size.

Below is a brief guide that summarizes each of these 4Cs.

For more information on each of these characteristics, please see the respective guides below.

Yellow gemstone sitting on a rock


Color refers to the degree to which a diamond is colorless; diamonds are graded from completely colorless to light yellow or brown, with colorless diamonds being the most sought after.

Gemstone sitting on a brown leather surfaced


Clarity refers to the absence of imperfections in a diamond, with grades ranging from Flawless to Included, based on the visibility and presence of and these imperfections.

Gemtone sitting on a rock


Considered to be the most important C of all, cut refers to how well a diamond’s facets interact with light to produce a dazzling display of brilliance, scintillation, and fire. 

Gemtone sitting on diamond measurement


Carat refers to the size of the diamond, measured by weight, with one carat equating to 200 milligrams. This C is oftentimes the first thing that people think when diamond shopping.

More on Diamonds

Read more about Diamonds and empower yourself with knowledge to make an informed decision.

Diamond reflecting light

Brilliance, Fire, & Scintillation

Brilliance, Fire, and Scintillation are three optical properties of a diamond that together help give a diamond it’s signature shine.